European Union renews Iran human rights sanctions for 1 year

On April 8, 2019, the Council renewed until 13 April 2020 its restrictive measures in response to serious human rights violations in Iran as laid down in Council Regulation (EU) No 359/2011 of 12 April 2011. The restrictive measures consist of travel bans and assets freezes applying to 82 Iranian citizens, including several judges and prosecutors, members of the Islamic Revolutionary Guards Corps, senior police officers, prison wardens, and one entity, the Iranian Cyberpolice. The measures also include a ban on exports to Iran of equipment that could be used for internal repression and equipment for monitoring telecommunications.
Since the adoption of Regulation (EU) n. 359/2011, these restrictive measures have been renewed on annual basis.
Iran human rights sanctions are distinct and separate from the Iran economic sanctions provided by Regulation (EU) No 267/2012 of 23 March 2012, connected to the Iranian nuclear programme; therefore, they have not been affected by the developments of the JCPOA – Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action.